thought of the day

“it’s never crowded along the extra mile.” 

I always gave 150% of anything i did. on the extra mile I got lonely and felt that the 80% crowd was more entertaining. i got tired of giving more than was needed and started to blend again. That’s so wrong of me. Why compare myself, when i’m a 150% kind of person?

These days i’m reading a book by Rick Warren ( Say what?! i’m reading a actual book?! ): “purpose driven life” and this book is not only confusing me, but i feel ashamed of certain habits I adopted. i’m at day eight still, but his question ” what is your purpose for living?” is still unanswered on my side. The idea he want to create is that you should find your purpose- the purpose God has intended for you- and live by it for God.

So I realized not only have i forgot my purpose for living or gave God a chance to let me know what it is, but i don’t go the extra mile anymore. I can find lots and lots of excuses like : ” it’s not like the company i’m working for will build me statue after I die” or ” being helpful makes you vulnerable to thieves”, but at the end of each day i should stop looking for excuses and focus on what God had planned for me. If it means i will be surrounded with less people, wow i might enjoy that. I might not get a statue one day, but why do you want to be a pooping space for birds when you can be remembered by a few people who knew you and loved you?

Go the extra mile

Make some one’s day

have a purpose driven life…

4 comments on “thought of the day

  1. Ek het ook die boek gelees, lees dit gerus klaar.

    Ons het ‘n nalatenskap wat ons vir ons kinders laat, al dink onsself dit is gering, is dit als behalwe.

    ONS KINDERS HOU AAN DAAI HERINNERINGE VAS AS HULLE VOLWASSE MENSE IS, EN DIE LEKKERTE DAARVAN IS AS JY AS OUER JOU BES DAARMEE GEDOEN HET IS DIT AL WAT SAAKMAAK, WANT DIT HOU BAIE KEER ONS KINDERS STAANDE IN MOEILIKE TYE.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. travel460 says:

    Die boek is ook altyd maar op my of my man se bedkassie, al het ons dit reeds gelees. Sekere skrywes moet naby die hart gehou word.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

